General Education and Training Phase

(Grade 8 and Grade 9)

There are eight Learning Areas in the National Curriculum Statement for Grades 8 and 9:

  • Arts and Culture
  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Human and Social Sciences
  • Languages (Language of Learning and Additional Languages)
  • Life Orientation
  • Mathematics
  • Natural Sciences
  • Technology

Further Education and Training Phase

(Grade 10 to Grade 12)

Learners are prepared for the National Senior Certificate through the Independent Examination Board (IEB). All tertiary institutions in South Africa and many international universities will accept superior results in the IEB examinations for admission into their degree courses.

At the end of Grade 9 a student has the opportunity of choosing three subjects from Option B.

Subjects currently offered in Grades 10 to 12:

Option A


  • English
  • Afrikaans
  • Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy
  • Life Orientation

Option B


  • Accounting
  • Information Technology
  • Business Studies
  • Life Sciences
  • Dramatic Arts
  • Music 
  • French
  • Physical Sciences
  • Geography
  • Portuguese
  • History
  • Visual Arts
  • Engineering Design and Technology
  • Computer Applications Technology
  • Hospitality Studies

Extra-curricular academic support programmes, more especially in Mathematics and English, are run on a regular basis throughout the school terms. Learners can arrange extra lessons with other subjects on an appointment basis. These programmes are not charged for.