St Martins School Logo


A robust curriculum for life preparation

Our curriculum comprises of a General Education and Training Phase (Form One and Two), and then the students progress to the Further Education and Training Phase (Form Three to Form Five), with compulsory subjects and then elective subject options.

General Education and Training Phase (Form One and Two)

There are eight Learning Areas in the National Curriculum Statement for Form One and Two:

  • Arts and Culture
  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Human and Social Sciences
  • Languages (Language of Learning and Additional Languages)
  • Life Orientation
  • Mathematics
  • Natural Sciences
  • Technology
High School Mathematics
High School Technology

Further Education and Training Phase (Form Three to Form Five)

Students are prepared for the National Senior Certificate through the Independent Examination Board (IEB). All tertiary institutions in South Africa and many international universities will accept superior results in the IEB examinations for admission into their degree courses.

At the end of Form Two a student has the opportunity of choosing three subjects from Option B.

Subjects currently offered in Form Three to Form Five:

Option A - Compulsory:

  • English
  • Afrikaans or isiZulu
  • Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy
  • Life Orientation

Option B - Elective:

  • Accounting
  • Information Technology
  • Business Studies
  • Life Sciences
  • Dramatic Arts
  • French
  • Physical Sciences
  • Geography
  • Portuguese
  • History
  • Visual Arts
  • Engineering Design and Technology
  • Computer Applications Technology

Extra-curricular academic support programmes, more especially in Mathematics and English, are run on a regular basis throughout the school terms. Students can arrange extra lessons with other subjects on an appointment basis. These programmes are not charged for.

High School Music
High School Dramatic Arts